Democrats Stand Against Border Fence And Security

One of the few responsibilities of our federal government is the security of this nation. For decades they have not done their job securing our borders. Now that We The People are calling for action and Arizona has passed a strong illegal immigration bill, the Republicans have started pushing forward with legislation to strengthen the borders.  While Obama is sending up to 1,200 National Guard troops to border, Sen. John McCain has referred to that move as inadequate and introduced a bill calling for 6,000 troops to be sent.

McCain got about twelve Democrats to join him, but it was not enough for the 60 vote supermajority needed and so the measure was killed.  As was a measure requesting more than $2 billion in additional border security spending that was introduced by Republicans John Cornyn of Texas and Jon Kyl of Arizona.  So the Democrats stood against more border security today.  But they were not finished with just these two pieces of legislation.

Jim DeMint proposed an amendment to finish the 700 miles of border fence in one year.  A press release from Senator Jim DeMint on the amendment said:

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Senator Jim DeMint (R-SC) today announced that he will introduce an amendment to the financial regulation bill to require the completion of 700 miles of double-layer physical fencing along the U.S.-Mexico border within one year. Senator DeMint’s amendment follows through on the four-year-old promise made by Congress to secure the border under the Secure Fence Act of 2006. According to staff at the Department of Homeland Security (DHS), just a fraction of double-layer fencing has been completed to date, with only 34.3 miles of double layer fencing in total (11.8 in California, 9.1 in Arizona, and 13.4 in Texas).

Senator DeMint’s amendment was already approved last year by the Senate in a bipartisan 54-44 vote, with 21 Democrats joining 33 Republicans in support of the measure. However, Democrat leaders gutted the amendment behind closed doors after “the Obama administration had opposed rapid expansion of the fence.”

“We’ve now had two administrations fail to keep their promise to the American people to secure our border and Americans are tired of excuses,” said Senator DeMint. “Americans have demanded a real fence to combat the very real problems of illegal immigration that have led to human trafficking, drug trafficking, kidnapping and violence on our border. Congress will never be able to achieve long-term reform to create a legal immigration system that works until we secure our borders.

“We’ve had rhetoric and promises for four years without results. It’s time we completed the fence and secured our borders to protect American citizens.”

Jim DeMint just tweeted at around 8pm ET this evening that the measure had been defeated by the Democrats in a vote of 45 to 52.  We cannot even get these incompetent imbeciles in Congress to at least build a fence.  A fence they promised us and are required by law to build.  A fence that has worked wonderfully for San Diego.  The Democrats are not interested in border security obviously.

One thought on “Democrats Stand Against Border Fence And Security”

  1. I, as well as the majority of America are in favor of AZ’s new law-and 13 other states are looking to add it to their laws as well(enforcing federal law)! Tides are shifting against liberals-the democratic congress which destroyed this country since the bush administration and this current one, along with your “messiah,your chosen one” are getting voted OUT! In november, we will remember!
    The liberal hordes scream racism because doing so is a manipulative tactic designed to get the conversation off topic so that instead of dealing with the central issue, people become bogged down in all their nonsense- that way, they can prevent any logical, sensible discussion and therefore any logical, sensible solutions.
    The tactic is known as “irrelevant argumentative side-baiting” and is designed to be manipulative and disruptive. Primarily, they seek to create a highly emotionally charged atmosphere wherein their opponents find themselves on the defensive- defending themselves against the slanderous and defamatory charge of racism.
    I’ve had people such as that denounce me as a racist a number of times and you know what? When you tell them that you’ll sue for slander and defamation and they’ll be standing in front of a judge explaining themselves and offering their “evidence”….well, it’s amazing how quickly they shut up when they find out that instead of having something to gain by screaming racism, they have something to lose!
    People are angry that the US might protect its own borders, might make it harder to sneak into this country and, once here, to stay indefinitely.
    Let me see if I correctly understand the thinking behind these protests.
    Let’s say I break into your house.
    Let’s say that when you discover me in your house, you insist that I leave.
    But I say, ‘No! I like it here. It’s better than my house. I’ve made all the beds and washed the dishes and did the laundry and swept the floors. I’ve done all the things you don’t like to do. I’m hard-working and honest (except for when I broke into your house).
    According to the protesters:
    You are Required to let me stay in your house
    You are Required to feed me
    You are Required to add me to your family’s insurance plan
    You are Required to Educate my kids
    You are Required to Provide other benefits to me &to my family
    My husband will do all of your yard work because he is also hard-working and honest. (except for that breaking in part).
    If you try to call the police or force me out, I will call my friends who will picket your house carrying signs that proclaim my RIGHT to be there.
    It’s only fair, after all, because you have a nicer house than I do, and I’m just trying to better myself. I’m a hard-working and honest, person, except for well, you know, I did break into your house
    And what a deal it is for me!!!
    I live in your house, contributing only a fraction of the cost of my keep, and there is nothing you can do about it without being accused of cold, uncaring, selfish, prejudiced, and bigoted behavior.
    Oh yeah, and I DEMAND that you learn MY LANGUAGE!!! so that you can communicate with me.
    Why can’t people see how ridiculous this is?!

Leave a Reply

