Confessions of a former communist

I have a confession to make.

It might help explain why I fear a second term of Barack Obama so much.

I understand what Obama is and what he is doing because I was once like him: I am a former communist.

As a youth growing up during the Vietnam War, I was influenced by some of the more extreme, anti-American opposition to that conflict and began to identify with the enemy. I became convinced the U.S. epitomized all that was evil in the world.

During high school, I was arrested in what we called “anti-war demonstrations” that should be more accurately termed “anti-American riots.” Just like Obama, my youthful radicalism attracted the attention of powerful and influential people in the country. I was recruited for full-ride scholarships at colleges like Antioch, known for grooming the next generation of leftists. When I got into trouble for refusing to salute the flag, the American Civil Liberties Union was there, johnny-on-the-spot, to defend me and bring the school principal to his knees.

During the euphemistically named “Indo-China Peace Campaign” organized by Tom Hayden and Jane Fonda, I was give the “honor” of serving as a body guard for Fonda, recently returned from North Vietnam where she posed for photographs sitting in an anti-aircraft emplacement meant to shoot down American planes.

I was recruited for terrorist attacks like blowing up chemical plants by older radicals who didn’t have the courage to do it themselves. (I thank God today, I never followed through on these plots.) I wrote for some of the most left-wing periodicals in America – the Guardian, the Liberated Guardian and more.

And my reputation preceded me.

Even after college, when my views had moderated considerably, I was invited to meet Bill Ayers and Bernardine Dohrn, who were still underground for their own acts of domestic terrorism.

I tell you all of this – and there’s much more to the story – to illustrate the extent of my delusional misguidedness bred into me by a cadre of older and even less wise facilitators.

I’ve spent decades repudiating all those lies – deceptions and disinformation I understand better than most having been a victim of them.

But maybe I should have run for president instead.

Read more here.

Leave a Reply

