Another Olympics Scandal: Boxing Judge Expelled After Fighter Awarded Shock Win in Bout Some Question Was Fixed

A boxing referee from Turkmenistan was expelled from the London Olympics on Thursday for his handling of a bout in which the result was overturned on appeal.

Boxing’s governing federation, known as AIBA, released a statement saying referee Ishanguly Meretnyyazov “is on his way back home.”

The federation also suspended German referee Frank Scharmach five days for his decision to disqualify an Iranian heavyweight, and expelled technical official Aghajan Abiyev of Azerbaijan.

“I deeply regret that we had to take these decisions,” AIBA President Wu Ching-Kuo said. “However, our main concern has been and will always be the protection of the integrity and fair play of our competitions. I will take all possible steps to reinforce this.”

Both sanctioned referees made unusual decisions during Wednesday night’s card.

In a bantamweight bout, Magomed Abdulhamidov of Azerbaijan fell to the canvas six times in the third round against Satoshi Shimizu of Japan, yet still won a 22-17 decision.

Meretnyyazov allowed the fight to continue after each tumble, and he enraged the Japanese team by fixing the headgear worn by Abdulhamidov, who had to be helped from the ring after winning.

In fact, the CNBC announcers were so disgusted regarding the bout and its decision that they questioned the integrity of the sport.

Read and see more here.

About these ads

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s